Books
  • How to Bake a Sausage Dog
  • How to Bake a Sausage Dog
  • How to Bake a Sausage Dog
    • How to Bake a Sausage Dog
    • How to Bake a Sausage Dog
    • How to Bake a Sausage Dog

    How to Bake a Sausage Dog

    By Kirsten Reinhardt

    Quick Overview

    A brilliant and hilarious adventure from award-winning author Kirsten Reinhardt with black-and-white line drawings by David Roberts
    • €8.99
      Unit price per 

    'Since his parents had disappeared, Fennymore lived all alone in his
    big wind-battered house.'

    Funny, fast-paced middle-grade adventure story with a dark, spine-tingly twist.

    Eleven-year-old Fennymore lives with his strange great-aunt in an old house with only a magical bike for company. After she dies, Fennymore sets off with his new friend Fizzy to find his parents, who mysteriously disappeared. They fall foul of a silvery grey gentleman and an evil doctor who wants to get his hands on his father’s mysterious invention.

    Translated from the German by former Irish Children’s Laureate, Siobhán Parkinson.

    'Reinhardt has created an irresistible world of surrealism: quirky details, alluring mystery and wonderful characterisation make this a must-read. The story is playful but the ideas of loss and feeling different are delicately explored and curious minds can also reflect on threads of social justice and philosophy, which are woven throughout.' – Booktrust

    'Eccentricity and zaniness abound, with more than a suggestion of the sinister … Translated by Siobhán Parkinson from the German into sprightly English, this novel sparkles with wit and inventiveness.' – The Irish Times

    'The narrative is smooth and well paced with plenty of humour to keep a younger reader engaged. Reinhardt certainly knows to how to spin a good yarn and conjures a very vivid picture of Fennymore’s world. The language is fluid and crystal clear and, thanks to Parkinson’s expertise, it doesn’t feel like a translation… Each chapter is punctuated with one of David Roberts’ visual delights. His exquisite, hand-executed style matches the text brilliantly, and the result is both atmospheric and soulful. Add to this some excellent and subtle design, and you have a finished product that works extremely well.' –  Inis Magazine

    'Translated by Siobhán Parkinson from the German into lively English, this is a fast-paced adventure story and exquisite black-and-white line drawings by David Roberts make it especially pleasing.' – The Irish Independent

    'A wonderfully surreal story that successfully mixes humour with the slightly gruesome to create an imaginative romp that carries the reader along… For confident young readers who enjoy the unusual.' – Books for Keeps

    'This book is absolutely perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl. Quirky, funny and a little bit gross in all the right places, you’ll laugh and stayed gripped to the page of this most unusual adventure. This is a fab read! Highly recommended.' – Mary Esther Judy, Fallen Star Stories

    Kirsten Reinhardt is a German writer of children’s books, based in Berlin. How to Bake a Sausage Dog is her first book, and won the Oldenburger prize for children’s literature when it was first published in German. It has since been translated into French, Spanish and Catalan.

     

    About the Illustrator

    David Roberts is an award-winning illustrator from Liverpool. Since 1998 he has collaborated with some of Britain’s finest children’s authors, including Julia Donaldson, Sally Gardner, Philip Ardagh and Jacqueline Wilson to produce stunning children’s books. He is also the creator of the popular Dirty Bertie books. He has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal and was the winner of the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize Gold Award.

    Customer Reviews

    Be the first to write a review
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)

    Description

    'Since his parents had disappeared, Fennymore lived all alone in his
    big wind-battered house.'

    Funny, fast-paced middle-grade adventure story with a dark, spine-tingly twist.

    Eleven-year-old Fennymore lives with his strange great-aunt in an old house with only a magical bike for company. After she dies, Fennymore sets off with his new friend Fizzy to find his parents, who mysteriously disappeared. They fall foul of a silvery grey gentleman and an evil doctor who wants to get his hands on his father’s mysterious invention.

    Translated from the German by former Irish Children’s Laureate, Siobhán Parkinson.

    Praise

    'Reinhardt has created an irresistible world of surrealism: quirky details, alluring mystery and wonderful characterisation make this a must-read. The story is playful but the ideas of loss and feeling different are delicately explored and curious minds can also reflect on threads of social justice and philosophy, which are woven throughout.' – Booktrust

    'Eccentricity and zaniness abound, with more than a suggestion of the sinister … Translated by Siobhán Parkinson from the German into sprightly English, this novel sparkles with wit and inventiveness.' – The Irish Times

    'The narrative is smooth and well paced with plenty of humour to keep a younger reader engaged. Reinhardt certainly knows to how to spin a good yarn and conjures a very vivid picture of Fennymore’s world. The language is fluid and crystal clear and, thanks to Parkinson’s expertise, it doesn’t feel like a translation… Each chapter is punctuated with one of David Roberts’ visual delights. His exquisite, hand-executed style matches the text brilliantly, and the result is both atmospheric and soulful. Add to this some excellent and subtle design, and you have a finished product that works extremely well.' –  Inis Magazine

    'Translated by Siobhán Parkinson from the German into lively English, this is a fast-paced adventure story and exquisite black-and-white line drawings by David Roberts make it especially pleasing.' – The Irish Independent

    'A wonderfully surreal story that successfully mixes humour with the slightly gruesome to create an imaginative romp that carries the reader along… For confident young readers who enjoy the unusual.' – Books for Keeps

    'This book is absolutely perfect for fans of David Walliams and Roald Dahl. Quirky, funny and a little bit gross in all the right places, you’ll laugh and stayed gripped to the page of this most unusual adventure. This is a fab read! Highly recommended.' – Mary Esther Judy, Fallen Star Stories

    About the Author

    Kirsten Reinhardt

    Kirsten Reinhardt is a German writer of children’s books, based in Berlin. How to Bake a Sausage Dog is her first book, and won the Oldenburger prize for children’s literature when it was first published in German. It has since been translated into French, Spanish and Catalan.

     

    About the Illustrator

    David Roberts is an award-winning illustrator from Liverpool. Since 1998 he has collaborated with some of Britain’s finest children’s authors, including Julia Donaldson, Sally Gardner, Philip Ardagh and Jacqueline Wilson to produce stunning children’s books. He is also the creator of the popular Dirty Bertie books. He has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal and was the winner of the Nestlé Children’s Book Prize Gold Award.

    Reader Reviews

    Customer Reviews

    Be the first to write a review
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)

    Customer Reviews

    Be the first to write a review
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)
    0%
    (0)

    Promotions, new products and sales directly to your inbox.